Devtoberfest Discussions
Join in the conversations with your fellow participants, on anything and everything to do with Devtoberfest!
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Upgrade from ABAP Developer

kartefact
Participant

I have been an ABAP developer for the last 12 years and have no experience with any of the newer open source technologies.

Given that there are many such developers on this boat, it'll be great if someone could chart out a skill upgrade path for us. There are a plethora of new tech that it's quite overwhelming to know where to start and how to proceed.

Please leave your comments below if you are one such developer or if you have any advice for this subset of the developer community. 

KR
19 REPLIES 19

Surreal86
Explorer

I would recommend the learning journeys:
ABAP Programming - Upskilling from SAP ERP to SAP S/4HANA 
SAPUI5 and SAP Fiori Applications 
If you want a free curse try this one
Getting started with UX 

This is extremely helpful. Thank you so much. Do you have any specific recommendation for any of the newer open technologies outside of SAP that may be required for a well rounded ABAP developer?

KR

I would recomend javascript. You can use it with FIORI and also with Adobe Forms.

shahid
Product and Topic Expert
Product and Topic Expert

Usual list.

ABAP New Syntaxes
AMDP/SQL
ABAP CDS/CDS Annotations
ABAP RAP
SAP FIORI/Embeded Analytics
Node.js
Native HANA/XSA Development
SAP BTP/ SAP CAP/ SAP BTP Services

CertificationsLearning content is free for some of the certifications.
Example: https://learning.sap.com/learning-j...
ResourcesOpenSAP
https://developers.sap.com/tutorial-navigator.html
https://www.youtube.com/saphanaacademy
https://www.youtube.com/user/sapdevs

NTeunckens
Active Contributor