cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Development, Quality , Production server

Former Member
0 Kudos

Dear Experts,

I am new to SAP HR , Can some one help to understand the following terms.

1. Development server , where it has more clients. I am not able to understand it , like why it is being used.

2. Quality server - What is the purpose of it ?

3. Production server - what is the purpose of it ?

As a SAP HCM Functional consultant, what is our role in this 3 server ? If we need to make some changes where we need to do the configuration ?

4. Also please let me know what is Transport request ?

Waiting for the valuable reply from you experts.

Regards

Bala

former_member786493
Discoverer

The procedure is called the Landscape .

1.Development server ( In development server you have to make configuration of SAP + Unit Testing)

2. Quality Server ( In Quality server you have to do again some configuration+ Unit / Integration testing )

3. Pre-production Server ( You can do general configuration + Testing)

4. Production Server ( Day to day Transactions posting / SAP End users activities )

Note : The configuration will be done in one client but testing will be done in other client while moving to next server .

ChrisSolomon
Active Contributor
0 Kudos

Why raise a zombie from 2014 that was already answered!?!??!

nitish_g
Explorer
0 Kudos

I did not noticed the dates

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

Lkv
Active Participant

This message was moderated.

Answers (4)

Answers (4)

Former Member

Hi Bala,

In HR I don't have any idea But I will explain in Finance Area. Try to understand.

Development Server       : For Customization Purpose ( All the creation work will done here )

Quality                            : For Testing Purpose

Production                     : Live Data. Finaly out put. ( End used will access )

Quality check only in Quality server only.

Development only in Development.

Production Live only.