SAP Builders Discussions
Join the discussion -- ask questions and discuss how you and fellow SAP Builders are using SAP Build, SAP Build Apps, SAP Build Process Automation, and SAP Build Work Zone.
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Can anyone explain how to set up BTP authentication for various SAP Build App scenarios

TMNielsen
Contributor

I am an backend ABAP developer that was never keen on getting into the newer frontend development tool like java, fiori, CDS annotations etc. etc etc etc, so this new option "SAP Build Apps" seems to be my change to get back into the game 🙂

But I find it sooo hard to make a test system work.

I have finally succeeded setting up a BTP with ABAP, SAP Build Apps and SAP Build Automation, but it was a struggle and i'm not there yet. I will not give you all the details of this tedious struggle so far, but simply say that I am stuck with some authentication problem and as I basically doesn't not understand this authentication setup between BTP and SAP Build Apps I hope some one in this SAP Builders group can help.

The history of my setup is that I have

1. subscribed to BTP Pay-as-you-go
  2. Run the booster "Prepare an Account for ABAP Development (Free-Tier)"
  3. Created a custom IAS tenant as described in this  blog 
  4. Run the booster "Get started with SAP Build Apps"

In BTP my user is linked to two  identity provider:

TMNielsen_1-1673012161455.png

Now I have tried to complete an exercise/tutorial  where I must first create an Application Backend - this went well. Next step I must build the application frontend and add integration to the Application Backend, but here i hit the Authentication wall.