Technology Blogs by Members
Explore a vibrant mix of technical expertise, industry insights, and tech buzz in member blogs covering SAP products, technology, and events. Get in the mix!
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
former_member1321
Participant
Hi All,

I am a newbie to SAP-HANA world and was recently exploring different types of CDS Views (particularly CDS Views with Input Parameters).

Though CDS Views with Input Parameters were introduced quite a long time back but I could not find a way to make some of the input parameters as Optional. So I played around with some annotations and found out a way to accomplish the same.

I did that with the help of annotation
@Environment.systemField: #USER

I used the above annotation in my CDS View along with parameters in the following way:
  @AbapCatalog.sqlViewName: 'Z_CDS_OP'
@AbapCatalog.compiler.compareFilter: true
@AccessControl.authorizationCheck: #CHECK
@EndUserText.label: 'Material Query'
define view ZCDS_OP
with parameters
@Environment.systemField: #CLIENT
p1 : mandt,
@Environment.systemField: #USER
p2 : uname,
p3 : aenam
as select from mara as ar
{
:p1 as Client,
:p2 as Name,
aenam as Created_By,
matnr as Material
}
where
ar.mandt = :p1
and ar.aenam = :p3;

Here the parameter p2 is defined for the sy-uname value, but it functions as an optional parameter at run-time.

If no value is passed for p2 parameter, the system defaults it to the sy-uname value.

Note that there is no asterisk (*) over p2 field. Below is the output of this query:

In this case my username is 'FUNCTIONAL' and is displayed in column 'Name'.

Now I pass the value to the optional parameter:

Now, the p2 parameter value gets used and I get the following result:

This CDS view can also be consumed in an ABAP Program like the following:
    "Select Data from CDS view without optional parameter
SELECT Client, Name, Created_By, Material
FROM zcds_op( p3 = 'FUNCTIONAL' )
INTO TABLE @DATA(li_mara).

and