cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to manage branching in GCTS ?

c_drancourt
Explorer

Dear experts, hello!

I'm looking forward to be using GCTS in my company and I already customized it, it works fine.

But honestly I have many question about how to manage architecture / branching in it, it really feels like we can't use GIT to its full extent. I'm pretty sure I missed / misunderstood something as I'm no expert in GIT.

If I consider a simple landscape : DEV, QUAL & PROD.

My understanding from the open SAP course is I have to create one repo for workbench and one repo for customizing. I saw 3 branching possibility but I see major issues on these solutions. Still I'm unable to find something satisfying.

1) One branch for each environment.+ one branch for hotfixes. Development is made on dev branche then we merge DEV with QUAL when testing is requested. When test is successfully done, we go live by merging with prod branch.

On simple cases, it seems fine but in real life it seems to not be sustainable. When feature A is developed then feature B is developed. Feature B cannot go live without feature A. I have the feeling that here we cannot work with a single repo for workbench. But in that case how should we divide our repos as there usually are interdependencies between our objects?

2) One branch per feature + one main for production. Each feature is developed on DEV and is pushed to the feature branch when development is done. The feature branch is pulled on QUAL system for testing. When testing is done successfully, the feature branch is merged to production.