Welcome Corner Discussions
Join the Welcome Corner discussion, where newcomers and community veterans are encouraged to introduce themselves, learn about others, and build their networks.
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Can you remember the first time you heard of SAP

Ruthvik
Active Contributor

Hello Coffee Corner folks,

when was the first time you heard about or saw SAP, can you recall those early carrier days of yours? 

By Today I completed my 10 Years journey in the SAP World 

#SAPCarrier #SAPLife

Thanks & Regards
Ruthvik Chowdary
241 REPLIES 241

VXLozano
Active Contributor

Late 90's. I was a VB analyst-programmer (or whatever). A colleague who moved to DW (data warehouse) to get more cash told us he was leaving to get an SAP course.
He didn't even knew what SAP was, but "the cash is there".

I forgot it until 2004, when another colleague told me his company was recruiting freshers to get an ABAP course ("something related with SAP"). I took that "course", and since then I'm developing in or near an SAP system.
The cash is around, I must admit it... but for some reasons it doesn't fall into my pockets. I prefer a lower income with a happier environment.

Yasin
Active Participant

my first experience with SAP was on 2008, the company which i work for decided to move to SAP ERP.

It was not easy to implement SAP ERP at that time it was really hard, finaly we did it. We were one of the first companies complete successful SAP implementation at Saudi Arabia.

BaerbelWinkler
Active Contributor

I don't exactly remember, but sometime in the late 1990s, the company I then worked for (Kodak in Germany) decided to move from self-programmed systems (with PL/1 on IBM mainframe) for accounts payable and receivable to SAP R/2. But I wasn't really involved with that. I was then still focused on PL/1 where we had to tackle projects like the EURO-introduction and Y2K within our homegrown systems.