Application Development Discussions
Join the discussions or start your own on all things application development, including tools and APIs, programming models, and keeping your skills sharp.
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Check existence of data in internal table against actual table

JMorozowski
Active Participant
0 Kudos

Hi. I am very new to ABAP so please excuse me if I am using terminology incorrectly or asking a very simple question. I am working on a program that uploads data from a spreadsheet and inserts it into a table. I have the basics of it working quite well, but now I am trying to put in some checks before writing records to the table. For instance, first I am putting all of the records in the spreadsheet into an internal table. I would then like to check two of the fields to see if a plant and material combination exists in table MARC. So I am looping my internal table into a work area and I would like to use the fields from teh work area in a where clause. Is that possible? and if so how can I do that? I've tried to use the column numbers (col3 and col2), but when I run a syntax check it doesn't like that.

Thanks,

Jon

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Jelena
Active Contributor

OK, so yes, it is a simple question and I'm honestly quite surprised you've managed to read a spreadsheet without mastering internal tables first.

Anyways... Since you're asking about MARC table I'm assuming you're using an ECC 6.0 system without HANA. If you're using HANA then disregard and check this blog for better suggestions.

It's not advisable to loop through the internal table entries and select data from the database within the loop. In this scenario I'd use the dreaded SELECT... FOR ALL ENTRIES, as Ravi was trying to suggest (albeit a bit clumsily). Make sure to read Help (F1 key) on that command and check beforehand that your internal table is not empty.