Application Development Discussions
Join the discussions or start your own on all things application development, including tools and APIs, programming models, and keeping your skills sharp.
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Problem by using regex with word boundaries and text with non-alphanumerical characters

michał_badura
Participant

Hi all,

I have a problem using regexes with word boundaries.

First of all: my goal. I want to remove all words in my text, that are shorter than, let's say, 5 characters. As usually, I started playing with DEMO_REGEX_TOY. First try: \<\S{1,5}\>. This should match every word with 1 to 5 characters. But in the sample program (text: Cathy's black cat…) it matches, by the option FIRST OCCURRENCE, Cathy, by all occurrences Cathy and s. Documentation for \< and \> says that Words are defined as uninterrupted strings of alphanumeric characters. Alphanumeric are characters / letters and digits, so my mistake. But if I change the length to 7 or more, then, all of a sudden, the whole word is matched (Cathy's). How's that possible? What am I missing here? It's working the same when I change \S to [[:graph:]].

I would very appreciate any clues. Many thanks in advance!

Best regards

Michał

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Sandra_Rossi
Active Contributor

I would say that the only question is about the text "Words are defined as uninterrupted strings of alphanumeric characters" in the documentation, which is completely wrong according to me. If think \< and \> just imply a condition on the left and right characters, they must be alphanumeric characters. All characters in between can be anything. You may use the following to exclude single quotes:

\<[[:alpha:]]{1,7}\>

Concerning [[:graph:]], the documentation says "Set of all displayable characters except for blanks and horizontal tabs". So the result you get is very logical, I don't know why you mention it.

11 REPLIES 11

Sandra_Rossi
Active Contributor