cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

what is the user interface to S/4HANA?

jbrotto
Active Contributor
0 Kudos

I am a project manager for an implementation to S/4 HANA, but I come from the SAP B1 world and would like to know what type of interfaces it has as I am trained to use the older version SAP ERP ECC6.

filipn
Employee
Employee
0 Kudos

Do you mean User Interface? It can have both, SAP GUI or Fiori Launchpad.

Wallace
Active Participant
0 Kudos

Hello Jonathan,

If you want to "see" S4 before the project has an instance, look into getting the free two week S4 Trial. I believe it will require SAP authentication to activate it, so an "S" user or similar. If you want it longer than 2 weeks, you can create it again/extend it.

It can be a great way to see an S4 with Fiori.
Also consider the "SAP Companion" User assistance - SAP brings it standard on Cloud S4 and other software, your instance might have to enable it...

Wishing you the best on the journey.

Best Regards, Wallace

View Entire Topic
gregory_hawkins1
Employee
Employee

Hi Jonathan,

There are multiple technologies that can be leveraged to optimize the UI for S/4HANA - and it makes a difference whether you are using on-premise versions or SAP S/4HANA Cloud.

The preferred UI for S/4HANA is Fiori starting from a Fiori Launchpad - but that design umbrella can cover several different technologies. I'm going to simplify the options here - because I don't think you are really looking for a full breakdown. We are primarily looking at:

• SAPUI5 - this is what most of the Fiori applications leverage.
  • SAP GUI for HTML (or Screen Personas) - This is what is used for functionality (transactions) where the corresponding full Fiori application either doesn't fully satisfy the functionality available for a given use case or where a corresponding full Fiori application isn't available.

Essentially, the you use a Fiori Launchpad to access these applications.