Technology Blogs by Members
Explore a vibrant mix of technical expertise, industry insights, and tech buzz in member blogs covering SAP products, technology, and events. Get in the mix!
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
irvinrufus
Explorer
Introduction

CPI is a wonderful technology for B2B scenarios helping us connecting different systems, organize and transform data. As with connecting different systems, we may also at times need to process exceptions when things don't follow the way we expect them to.

This blog provides a beginner level insight into handling an exception in CPI.

CPI has the capability to handle exceptions. However, the way the exceptions are handled may be a little different than a beginner might expect. It was definitely different than what I expected 🙂

As a traditional ABAP developer, I was expecting to catch the exception and route the control to the subsequent steps in the main iFlow. But, exception handling in CPI by design does NOT return to the main flow after an exception is raised.

For example, in the below flow, I'm expecting an exception at "Get gvCounter" step. But once the control proceeds to Exception process, the control does not return to the main integration flow  to process the rest of the steps.

Exception Handling Issue

Solution option

How could the exception sub-process be routed back to the main flow?

One solution option is to group the subsequent processes in the main flow into a sub process and invoke the sub process within the Exception flow.

By granularizing the main process into sub processes, we can deviate the exception flow to process the remaining steps in the Integration flow.

Overview of the steps

1. Define the rest of the process flow as a local integration process as "remainingFlow"

2. invoke the "remainingFlow" from the exception handling flow