Technology Blogs by Members
Explore a vibrant mix of technical expertise, industry insights, and tech buzz in member blogs covering SAP products, technology, and events. Get in the mix!
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
BaerbelWinkler
Active Contributor

Background

I've been working with ABAP in on premise systems since about 2001 and this won't change (much) in the next couple of years. Right now, the systems I'm mostly active in are on Netweaver 7.50 with EHP8 and SP29. Most of the ABAP-code I write or maintain revolves around data retrieval from database tables and bringing it into a useful ALV-format for the users. Depending on the task at hand I utilize SAP GUI transactions like SE80, SE11 and the like or the ADT in Eclipse. For the tutorials I worked in a sandbox system. All in all, you might call me an "ABAPosaurus", a term made popular by @Jelena several years ago as apparent in the search-results for the term.

Why work through an ABAP Beginner Tutorial?

My reasons for paying a visit to the Tutorial Navigator were twofold:

1. See how I could do some basic activities in the ADT instead of SAP GUI
  2. Find out what I could actually do with ADT given our somewhat old NW 7.50 system and that the tutorial had this as one of the pre-requisites: "You have a valid instance of an on-premise AS ABAP server, version 7.51 or higher (some ABAP Development Tools may not be available in earlier versions)"

What did I find out?

WhyBeginnerTutorial-01.jpg

Worth remembering

For my exercise I picked the mission Get Started with ABAP Development on-Premise.  All the activities related to ABAP code worked well, be it for a report program or class. While working through the tutorials I picked up some ADT options and functionality I hadn't often used or noticed before: