Technology Blogs by SAP
Learn how to extend and personalize SAP applications. Follow the SAP technology blog for insights into SAP BTP, ABAP, SAP Analytics Cloud, SAP HANA, and more.
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Daniel_Davis
Product and Topic Expert
Product and Topic Expert

The Journey

I've been using SAP Analytics Cloud for almost 8 years and like many of you, have stuck to stories rather than Analytic Applications as I don't have a massive coding background. Well if truth be told, I'm old and so my Basic and Pascal skills haven't had an airing for quite a few years.

With the latest innovations such as the Optimised Design Experience and the ability to add script elements to existing stories, I have now started to 'enhance' my visual storytelling. It struck me that rather than go big bang I would take an existing SAC Story and add code where I could get some quick wins without having to write big chunks of code.

Where to start this journey - that was the question and this blog series shows some small code elements that help me to create a more appealing, usable story that can add a little more finesse to the usability experience.

1. Show and Hide Stuff

So one of the elements i always want in a SAC story is the simple ability to Show one element and Hide another - just to swap one display type for another in the same real-estate. With the new Optimised Story type you can do exactly that, quickly and simply.

One difference of the Optimised Story is that each element you add to the page gets a default name and if you look in the Story Outline you'll see all the objects you've added to your story.