cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

AMDP Class accessing virtual table - need to implement Dynamic SQL

ABAPMarty
Participant

Hi, I have a problem with accessing virtual tables via a table function and AMDP class. I am an ABAP Developer so I am struggling with the SQLScript syntax and a few other things too so I am hoping to get some help.

We have a remote data source, create with SDA (smart data access). We have 200 plants. Each plant has an SQL DB that we are extracting data from into a SQL Server staging server. The data for each plant has a table named after that plant number. So say the table names are: 1000, 1001, 1002, etc. Every table has exactly the same fields.

I have created virtual tables for these tables that exist on the remote data source. I also ran a "grant select" statement to give access to those tables. So I have a working example with a hard coded plant number. Now I want to pass the plant to the table function as a parameter and use that to build the text of the table name to use dynamically in the "FROM" clause. The table name would be something like: "TAB_[plantno]". As I am not fluent in SQLScript I have done a lot of googling, read some of the "SAP HANA SQLScript Reference" document and tried various things.

For instance on the staging table we created one view which was a union of all the others. Then we don't need dynamic SQL, we can just specify the plant in the "WHERE" clause as it is the first field in each table. But it times out when we run it. Just too much data to be able to get a useful response.

So these objects give a result, with 10 records from the virtual table:

Table function:

define table function ZTF_MC_TEST_DYNAMIC_SQL
    with parameters p_plant : werks_d
    returns 
    {
    key PLANT   : abap.char( 4 ) ;
    key MATERIAL : abap.char( 18 ); 
    } implemented by method zcl_mc_test_dyn_sql_sda=>get_data;

AMDP Class:

CLASS zcl_mc_test_dyn_sql_sda DEFINITION
  PUBLIC
  FINAL