cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

CAP or RAP which model to choose?

Hi Experts,

I am new to BTP developments but well experienced with ABAP/OData/ Fiori developments. If I have to build a custom application in UI5 where I need to get/push data via REST APIs to non-sap systems. Which programing model should I use ( CAP or RAP ).

What I understood from little reading that I did on this topic

CAP development needs knowledge on Node.js where as ABAP knowledge is enough to get started with RAP. Being an experienced ABAPer I would naturally choose RAP for the ease of coding and not being pushed to learn an entirely new language. But I have also understood that RAP application development needs subscription to ABAP environment service on BTP which is quite costly and CAP apps do not need this. Are there any other advantages of choosing CAP over RAP? what is the best practice (or) guideline from SAP on which model to choose when developing an application on BTP? This are the usual questions that we get from customers when we implement BTP for them

andre.fischer dj.adams.sap dj.adams thomas.jung , your opinion is highly appreciated

TMNielsen
Contributor

I'm no expert, but here's my 2 cents

Your experience push you against RAP.

You say you need to work with non-sap systems. I don't know if this push you agains CAP, but it for sure does not particularly push you against RAP.

Then there is the question of cost. I agree that if you have subscribe to a stand alone BTP ABAP environment, it is costly - I wouldn't say "quit costly", I would say extremely costly. BUT as you mention that you are experienced with ABAP/ODATA/Fiori, I guess you are working at a company that already have some licences that include all or parts of the servers, services etc- that is needed.