cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Order of Execution in SAP CDS Table Function

0 Kudos

Hi all ,

I am new to CDS and table functions. I had a requirement where i had to do some calculations in table function and return the same in CDS view. PFB details :

CDS View ZXXX calling the Table Function

Table Function :

AMDP Method :

Now my question is when the CDS view is executed will the table function first execute and execute calculation for all objects before the inner join filter is applied or inner join filter will be applied first and then table function execution will take place ? Just wanted to understand the performance impact in case of using it in this way. In this particular case i cannot pass the input as a parameter else would have passed it and filtered the result already.

fedaros
Advisor
Advisor

GROUP BY and DISTINCT are performing same action. Anyhow, should be better try remove both to avoid missing filters.

Sandra_Rossi
Active Contributor

I guess execution plan and SQL trace should help understanding the database choice.

View Entire Topic
fedaros
Advisor
Advisor

Hi Tejas,

Both artifacts you expose (CDS and function) will generate database artifacts (SQL view and Function), that said the execution flow is from data source to consumption point.

In terms of execution order, normally HANA will read the SQL fired and create a runtime version that can create a new "model" that integrate all the execution like one big SQL. Also, some parts which is independant can execute in parallel, so it's not procedural.

You cds execution will initiate the join of IFLO / T499s at same time VSTAT / T352R... the result from IFLO / T499s will wait finish further joins result / TJ02T / TJ30T / agregation... to join both results...

Regards, Fernando Da Rós

0 Kudos