Application Development Blog Posts
Learn and share on deeper, cross technology development topics such as integration and connectivity, automation, cloud extensibility, developing at scale, and security.
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Andre_Fischer
Product and Topic Expert
Product and Topic Expert

Caution

Overview

Since I am not a Docker expert I want to share how a new license can be downloaded and installed in the new Docker based SAP ABAP Platform Developer Edition.

As an overview I will start with the four steps that you have to perform before starting with screen shots:

1. Download license from https://developers.sap.com/trials-downloads.html?search=ABAP+Platform

2. Unpack the license using a tool that supports .rar files

3. Navigate to the folder where the SAP license file A4H.txt can be found

4. Open a CMD prompt and enter the following command
    docker cp A4H.txt a4h:/opt/sap/ASABAP_license​

Download license

You can download license from https://developers.sap.com/trials-downloads.html?search=ABAP+Platform .

Unpack license

Using some tool like WinRAR (or sapcar ;-)) you can unpack the two license files

into two sub folders ABAP Demo license and SAP HANA license

where in the folder ABAP Demo license we find the file A4H.txt.

Import the license

Open a CMD prompt in the folder where you have downloaded the file A4H.txt where you run the following command
docker cp A4H.txt a4h:/opt/sap/ASABAP_license

In order to activate the license you have to stop the ABAP system

CAUTION:
Be sure to use the following command to shut down the system gracefully.

docker stop --time 7200 a4h

How to include this script into the shutdown procedure in Windows please check my following blog

How to gracefully shutdown your SAP ABAP Platform Developer Edition when shutting down Windows | SAP...

Start and let the license be installed during startup

Afterwards you can start your system again using the following docker command