Career Corner Blog Posts
Blog posts are a great way for SAP, customers, and partners to share advice, insights into career trends, new opportunities, and personal success stories.
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Jason_Cao
Product and Topic Expert
Product and Topic Expert

Have you ever told yourself, "That okay. It was a good learning experience." when something didn’t go the way you planned it? What you've done was apply a technique called "reframing." People who use reframing are typically more successful and happier in life.

Reframing is a commonly used technique to shift perspectives - usually from a negative and limiting thought or view of a situation, towards one that is more helpful and empowered. For example, seeing failure as an opportunity to learn, and viewing a problem as an opportunity. My personal favourite is to not see home repairs as a cost, but as an investment.

As a coach, I feel the greatest satisfaction and fulfillment when I can help my clients recognize and adopt a more empowered perspective. In an earlier blog post, I shared my belief that our thoughts are the most consequential in the trio of Thought-Emotion-Behaviour. Managing our thoughts is a powerful skill to have and will serve us in many situations in life, and reframing is one of the easiest and most effective ways to do this.

Photo by Milada Vigerova on Unsplash

Here are 2 effective ways to reframe:

Content reframing:

Example - "My manager hasn't accepted my request to meet with him. I bet he's getting ready to fire me."
What else might this mean? This is a basic cause and effect scenario (X caused Y), so let's look for a different cause (meaning) for the behaviour we observe. In this case, something different than our original negative meaning.

[Content reframe] "My manager hasn't accepted my request to meet with him. His Inbox must be really full after coming back from vacation."