Career Corner Blog Posts
Blog posts are a great way for SAP, customers, and partners to share advice, insights into career trends, new opportunities, and personal success stories.
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
TammyPowlas
Active Contributor

In the 8th grade I checked out a book at the library and one of the careers listed was "systems analyst".  It was a picture of a person analyzing green and white paper computer printouts.  I thought that would be an interesting career for me.

In college, I wasn't sure if I wanted to major in engineering or accounting.   10 hours of engineering calculus made me think accounting was for me.  So I majored in Accounting.  The good news is that 10 hours of engineering calculus gave me confidence to do anything.

I was very fortunate in my junior year to land an internship in internal auditing at the Federal Reserve.  Everyone was wonderful and it was a great experience. 

After college, I worked in various positions in auditing but landed in "Microcomputer Support" in IT.  Little known fact, I was one of the first people to install what was then called a microcomputer in the Jackson County Sports Authority (home of the Kansas City Chiefs and Kansas City Royals).

I was fortunate to also work in the FDIC in various positions such as budget analyst, programmer analyst and finally "systems accountant" marrying both my interests.  The FDIC supported my dream of obtaining a masters degree in IT at George Washington University.  To this day I always remember the first words of my professor there "before you call a meeting, create a cost benefit analysis of that meeting, and see if you still want to meet". 

As a capstone project, we put together a systems design for the DC Planning and Zoning Commission.  We created a prototype using VB Basic and created ER diagrams using an Oracle product at the time.