Technology Blogs by Members
Explore a vibrant mix of technical expertise, industry insights, and tech buzz in member blogs covering SAP products, technology, and events. Get in the mix!
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
MortenWittrock
Active Contributor

Welcome to the fourth installment of this blog post series, where I interview SAP Cloud Integration practitioners, developers, architects and enthusiasts about their favourite feature of the platform. This time around, I’m talking to vadim.klimov, who is known for his always interesting and insightful contributions to the SAP Cloud Integration community. Vadim also co-wrote the literal book on Groovy scripting in SAP Cloud Integration, so today’s topic probably won’t be a total shock to you 😄

Could you introduce yourself briefly, please?

My name is Vadim Klimov, I'm a freelance SAP integration architect based in the United Kingdom. I enjoy the spirit of the SAP Community and try to contribute to it. I'm also the co-author of an SAP PRESS book about scripting in SAP Cloud Integration.

Thank you! On to the central question of this blog post series: What’s your favourite SAP Cloud Integration feature?

Scripts - developed in Groovy or in JavaScript - that can be added to an integration flow, are definitely one of my most favourite features.

Why that particular feature?

SAP Cloud Integration provides a feature-rich palette of flow steps, but there is a wide spectrum of integration requirements that cannot be easily fulfilled using only standard steps. This is where scripts come to the rescue. Scripts make it possible to implement very sophisticated logic that is highly tailored to specific requirements using custom-developed Groovy or JavaScript script functions.