Application Development Blog Posts
Learn and share on deeper, cross technology development topics such as integration and connectivity, automation, cloud extensibility, developing at scale, and security.
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Tanja_Sch
Explorer
Ever wondered what happens after a lengthy working week full of ABAP programming? What do devoted ABAP enthusiasts do in their spare time? The answer is: of course, even more coding! With one exception only: no annoying interruptions, like meetings. 😉

This was proven by the 10 eager participants and the organizing team consisting of johann.fleitner2, dominik.bigl2 and myself from Cadaxo along with CodeRetreat devotee damir.majer who gathered in Salzburg on Saturday, October 14, for yet another ABAP CodeRetreat.

As I'm a newbie to the ABAP/SAP sphere, I was especially delighted to take part in my first ever CodeRetreat - even if only as an observer. I was in charge of snapping pictures and capture the overall atmosphere at the event - and of course help with the organizational tasks. The perks (or downsides 😉) of being a non-developer.

In a relaxed and chill atmosphere and among fellow ABAP enthusiasts, the agenda revolved around the main activity of the day, namely, CODING! And here’s how I experienced it...

Let's Get Practical!

The event started with an inspirational speech by Damir Majer on the topic of Test Driven Development, closely followed by exciting insights on ADT refactoring including a live demo by Föß and Domi. Moreover, Conway's Game of Life rules and the concept of CodeRetreat were thoroughly explained, with the event's focus being on ADT, Clean Code, TDD, and related topics.