Welcome Corner Blog Posts
Go a little bit deeper into the Welcome Corner with blog posts. Learn how to get started in SAP Community and get tips on maximizing your participation.
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
matthias
Advisor
Advisor

It was end of 2002. Exactly 5 weeks before Christmas. I was a consultant at SAP doing portal and KM development for customers. My previous project assignment just finished successfully when my manager asked me to come to his office. “There is a project, where SAP plans to set-up a community on the internet. Base on SAP portal. They are looking for someone who can develop an enhanced upload tool for documents. It is estimated with 5 weeks. Can you take that?” So this is how my story with SCN started. I did that tool and out of the 5 weeks assignment my story of more than 10 years with SCN started.

Before the official launch of the “SAP Developer Network” (SDN) a lot of tools and to be developed and system integrated. The first version that went live was based on SAP Enterprise Portal 5. Some webpages, a search on the document library, the capability to blog and a first version of a discussion forum. This blog by chip.rodgers shows some nice screenshots and links how SDN looked these days. For the launched as beta version you had to be registered to use any of the platform. So we build the first version of the registration and I was one of the first users registered in early 2003.

SDN Beta registiration screen in early 2003

Even though the platform as changed over the last 10 years a lot you can still find the content of that time. E.g the first blog and first discussion thread.