Coffee Corner Discussions
Get to know other SAP Community members during your coffee break. Join discussions on a variety of topics in a casual environment.
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

My new world

cris_hansen
Advisor
Advisor
Hi Community,

No need to say that we are living in a new world, not after, but during COVID-19.

I am not sure about you, but I wanted to share some of what is happening here, in my little corner of this huge world: what changed, what seem to be changed, what doesn't change.

For starters, my job remains pretty much the same: I am a SAP Support Engineer, with almost 13 years experience. Despite the fact that I am working from home from 3+ months, I still can answer SAP Customer's incidents, make calls, answer SAP Community questions. I still have team meetings - virtual ones, of course. Even though it seems normal, I miss the office. I miss my colleagues, my desk, my BIG monitor screen, the coffee machines (a bit obvious, I guess).

Now, working from home is different: my wife can work from home too, so our home office needs to be shared. My son is having online classes. So the three of us are together all day long, for several days now! This is different! Establishing a routine at home became a big project, and now we are executing it fine. We can do the meals together, talk about all sort of things, and go back to the office (or classroom) in a few steps. Ah, forgot to say that we also have the companion of our Shih Tzu, called Chewie: he divides his attention and caring to all of us: sometimes he is near me, then go to my wife, then to my son. Since we have it for 4 months now, we really appreciate his companionship. So nice and different to have him around.