Coffee Corner Discussions
Get to know other SAP Community members during your coffee break. Join discussions on a variety of topics in a casual environment.
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Productivity, Work From Home, The SAP Community

mmcisme1
Active Contributor
Productivity, work from home and the SAP community, how do they tie together? Read for my answers.   Perhaps you'll find something interesting that you didn't know about.

Productivity:

To continue to be productive when working from home.  Well I've been doing this for close to 10 years now.  Cool, right?  It can be.  As long as people know you ARE working. So my productivity is basically how they determine if working from home is going well.  Perceptions on what/how you are you are doing can become reality.  Perceptions = Reality.

1.  Interruptions to a minimum:

1. What is so nice for me is that I'm not interrupted very often.  I don't know if it's human nature or it's just the hassle of doing one more step.  But, people usually try finding a solution first before calling me.   A lot of times they find their answer.  This leaves me more time to work on my project(s).

2. SAP Community for help

1. There aren't people running by my desk asking why I'm on the internet so often.  So I can take advantage of google search to lead me here.  Most of the time I find the answer in the community or the archives.

2. If I can I look at blog posts in the morning.  It improves my ability to suggest answers and know what can be done.  Productivity?  Yes, because it helps my company when I grasp a concept enough to suggest it to them.  It may save days of research in the future.

3. Deadlines - what's in a deadline anyway?

1. Working from home improves my communication.  I tend to document what I'm doing more.  If/When I miss a deadline, I and my boss have a clear understanding of why I missed it.